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Telephone Payment Assistance Programs

There are many telephone payment assistance programs that
serve low-income and victims of family violence customers. If
you qualify for federal aid and are
having difficulty paying for your
telephone service or cannot afford
the service deposit, check into the
following programs.

Lifeline

This program reduces the basic
monthly telephone rates up to a

Only one discount per unique
address is allowed. If anyone in
your household is a participant in
programs such as SNAP. Medic-
aid, and Health Benefit coverage
under Child Health Plan (CHIP),
you should automatically b e
enrolled in the Lifeline program.
You will need to self-enroll if you
or someone in your household is
a participant in Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Low-
Income Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP), Federal Public
Housing Assistance, Eligible Resident of Tribal Lands, Tempo-
rary Assistance For Needy (TANF), or National School Lunch
Program - Free Lunch Program. You can also qualify if your
total household income is at or below 150% of the federal
poverty level. For more information or an application, log on to
www.puc.texas.gov/consumer/lowincome/Assis-tance.aspx
or call 1-866-454-8387.

Link Up For Tribal Lands

This program provides a 100% reduction of the customary
charge up to $100 on local telephone service installation if
you are a resident of Tribal lands. Customers receiving federal
aid benefits or who are at or below 150% of the federal pov-
erty level, and live on Tribal Lands are eligible for this

total maximum discount of $12.75.

discount. Link Up For Tribal lands is a one-time offer per loca-
tion, so make sure you fully under-stand and follow the rules.
Victims of Family Violence

If you are a victim of family violence, you are eligible to have
your telephone service deposit waived. To qualify as a victim
of family violence, you will need to provide a Texas Council on
Family Violence deposit waiver certification letter. The letter
must be filled out by a family violence center personnel, treat-
ing medical personnel, law enforcement personnel, a Texas
District Attorney or County Attorney, Office of the Attorney
General personnel, or a grantee of the Texas Equal Access to
Justice Foundation. The letter must be submitted directly to
the Retail Electric Provider (REP) using the REP's toll-free FAX
number. A copy of the deposit waiver certification letter can
be obtained on our website at www.puc.texas.gov/ consumer/
lowincome/Assistance . aspx.

2016 Federal Poverty Guidelines

Annual income - 150% of
Federal Poverty Level

$17,820
$24,030
$30,240

Number in household

$36,450

$42,660

$48,870
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$55,095

8 $61,335

Each additional add $6,240

QUESTIONS:
Call: ~ 1-888-782-8477, in Austin 512-936-7120
(TTY 512-936-7136) (FAX 512-936-7003)

Online: http://www.puc.texas.gov/consumer/complaint/Complaint.aspx

Write:

PUC - Customer Protection Division
P0. Box 13326, Austin, TX 78711-3326




