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§25.478. Credit Requirements and Deposits.  

(a) Credit requirements for residential customers.  A retail electric provider (REP) may require a residential 
customer or applicant to establish and maintain satisfactory credit as a condition of providing service pursuant 
to the requirements of this section.  
(1) Establishment of satisfactory credit shall not relieve any customer from complying with the 

requirements for payment of bills by the due date of the bill. 
(2) The credit worthiness of spouses established during shared service in the 12 months prior to their 

divorce will be equally applied to both spouses for 12 months immediately after their divorce. 
(3) A residential customer or applicant seeking to establish service with an affiliated REP or provider 

of last resort (POLR) can demonstrate satisfactory credit using one of the criteria listed in 
subparagraphs (A) through (E) of this paragraph.   
(A) A residential customer or applicant may be deemed as having established satisfactory credit 

if the customer or applicant: 
(i) has been a customer of any REP or an electric utility within the two years prior to 

the request for electric service; 
(ii) is not delinquent in payment of any such electric service account; and 
(iii) during the last 12 consecutive months of service was not late in paying a bill more 

than once. 
(B) A residential customer or applicant may be deemed as having established satisfactory credit 

if the customer or applicant possesses a satisfactory credit rating obtained through a 
consumer reporting agency, as defined by the Federal Trade Commission. 

(C) A residential customer or applicant may be deemed as having established satisfactory credit 
if the customer or applicant is 65 years of age or older and the customer is not currently 
delinquent in payment of any electric service account. 

(D) A residential customer or applicant may be deemed as having established satisfactory credit 
if the customer or applicant has been determined to be a victim of family violence as 
defined in the Texas Family Code §71.004, by a family violence center as defined in Texas 
Human Resources Code §51.002, by treating medical personnel, by law enforcement 
personnel, by the Office of a Texas District Attorney or County Attorney, by the Office of 
the Attorney General, or by a grantee of the Texas Equal Access to Justice Foundation.  
This determination shall be evidenced by submission of a certification letter developed by 
the Texas Council on Family Violence.  The certification letter may be submitted directly 
by use of a toll-free fax number to the affiliated REP or POLR. 

(E) A residential customer or applicant seeking to establish service may be deemed as having 
established satisfactory credit if the customer is medically indigent.  In order for a customer 
or applicant to be considered medically indigent, the customer or applicant must make a 
demonstration that the following criteria are met.  Such demonstration must be made 
annually: 
(i) the customer’s or applicant’s household income must be at or below 150% of the 

poverty guidelines as certified by a governmental entity or government funded 
energy assistance program provider; and 

(ii) the customer or applicant or the spouse of the customer or applicant must have 
been certified by that person’s physician as being unable to perform three or more 
activities of daily living as defined in 22 TAC §224.4, or the customer’s or 
applicant’s monthly out-of-pocket medical expenses must exceed 20% of the 
household’s gross income.  For the purposes of this subsection, the term 
“physician” shall mean any medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, nurse 
practitioner, registered nurse, state-licensed social workers, state-licensed 
physical and occupational therapists, and an employee of an agency certified to 
provide home health services pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1395 et seq. 
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(4) A residential customer or applicant seeking to establish service with a REP other than an affiliated 
REP or POLR can demonstrate satisfactory credit using one of the criteria listed in subparagraphs 
(A) through (B) of this paragraph.  Notice of these options for customers or applicants shall be 
included in any written or oral notice to a customer or applicant when a deposit is requested.  A REP 
other than an affiliated REP or POLR may establish additional methods by which a customer or 
applicant not meeting the criteria of subparagraphs (A) or (B) of this paragraph can demonstrate 
satisfactory credit, so long as such criteria are not discriminatory pursuant to §25.471(c) of this title 
(relating to General Provisions of Customer Protection Rules). 
(A) The residential customer or applicant is 65 years of age or older and the customer is not 

currently delinquent in payment of any electric service account. 
(B) The customer or applicant has been determined to be a victim of family violence as defined 

in the Texas Family Code §71.004, by a family violence center as defined in Texas Human 
Resources Code §51.002, by treating medical personnel, by law enforcement personnel, by 
the Office of a Texas District Attorney or County Attorney, by the Office of the Attorney 
General, or by a grantee of the Texas Equal Access to Justice Foundation.  This 
determination shall be evidenced by submission of a certification letter developed by the 
Texas Council on Family Violence.  The certification letter may be submitted directly by 
use of a toll-free fax number to the REP. 

(5) The REP may obtain payment history information from any REP that has served the applicant in the 
previous two years or from a consumer reporting agency, as defined by the Federal Trade 
Commission. The REP shall obtain the customer’s or applicant’s authorization prior to obtaining 
such information from the customer’s or applicant’s prior REP. A REP shall maintain payment 
history information for two years after a customer’s electric service has been terminated or 
disconnected in order to be able to provide credit history information at the request of the former 
customer.   

(b) Credit requirements for non-residential customers.  A REP may establish nondiscriminatory criteria 
pursuant to §25.471(c) of this title to evaluate the credit requirements for a non-residential customer or 
applicant and apply those criteria in a nondiscriminatory manner.  If satisfactory credit cannot be 
demonstrated by the non-residential customer or applicant using the criteria established by the REP, the 
customer may be required to pay an initial or additional deposit.  No such deposit shall be required if the 
customer or applicant is a governmental entity. 

(c) Initial deposits for applicants and existing customers. 
(1) If satisfactory credit cannot be demonstrated by a residential applicant, a REP may require the 

applicant to pay a deposit prior to receiving service.  
(2) An affiliated REP or POLR shall offer a residential customer or applicant who is required to pay an 

initial deposit the option of providing a written letter of guarantee pursuant to subsection (i) of this 
section, instead of paying a cash deposit.  

(3) A REP shall not require an initial deposit from an existing customer unless the customer was late 
paying a bill more than once during the last 12 months of service or had service terminated or 
disconnected for nonpayment during the last 12 months of service.  The customer may be required 
to pay this initial deposit within ten days after issuance of a written disconnection notice that 
requests such deposit.  The disconnection notice may be combined with or issued concurrently with 
the request for deposit. The disconnection notice shall comply with the requirements in §25.483(m) 
of this title (relating to Disconnection of Service). 

(d) Additional deposits by existing customers.  
(1) A REP may request an additional deposit from an existing customer if:  

(A) the average of the customer’s actual billings for the last 12 months are at least twice the 
amount of the original average of the estimated annual billings; and  
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(B) a termination or disconnection notice has been issued or the account disconnected within 
the previous 12 months.  

(2) A REP may require the customer to pay an additional deposit within ten days after the REP has 
requested the additional deposit.  

(3) A REP may disconnect service if the additional deposit is not paid within ten days of the request, 
provided a written disconnection notice has been issued to the customer.  A disconnection notice 
may be combined with or issued concurrently with the written request for the additional deposit.  
The disconnection notice shall comply with the requirements in §25.483(m) of this title. 

 

(e) Amount of deposit. 
(1) The total of all deposits, initial and additional, required by a REP from any residential customer or 

applicant:  
(A) shall not exceed an amount equivalent to the greater of: 

(i) one-fifth of the customer’s estimated annual billing; or 
(ii) the sum of the estimated billings for the next two months. 

(B) A REP may base the estimated annual billing for initial deposits for applicants on a 
reasonable estimate of average usage for the customer class.  If a REP requests additional 
or initial deposits from existing customers, the REP shall base the estimated annual billing 
on the customer’s actual historical usage, to the extent that the historical usage is available.  
After 12 months of service with a REP, a customer may request that a REP recalculate the 
required deposit based on actual historical usage of the customer.   

(2) For the purpose of determining the amount of the deposit, the estimated billings shall include only 
charges for electric service that are disclosed in the REP’s terms of service document provided to 
the customer or applicant. 

(3) If a customer or applicant qualifies for the rate reduction program under §25.454 of this title (relating 
to Rate Reduction Program), then such customer or applicant shall be eligible to pay any deposit 
that exceeds $50 in two equal installments.  Notice of this option for customers eligible for the rate 
reduction program shall be included in any written notice to a customer requesting a deposit.  The 
customer shall have the obligation of providing sufficient information to the REP to demonstrate 
that the customer is eligible for the rate reduction program.  The first installment shall be due no 
sooner than ten days, and the second installment no sooner than 40 days, after the issuance of written 
notification to the applicant of the deposit requirement.  

(f)  Interest on deposits. A REP that requires a deposit pursuant to this section shall pay interest on that deposit 
at an annual rate at least equal to that set by the commission on or before December 1 of the preceding 
calendar year, pursuant to Texas Utilities Code §183.003 (relating to Rate of Interest).  If a deposit is refunded 
within 30 days of the date of deposit, no interest payment is required. If the REP keeps the deposit more than 
30 days, payment of interest shall be made from the date of deposit.  
(1) Payment of the interest to the customer shall be made annually, if requested by the customer, or at 

the time the deposit is returned or credited to the customer’s account. 
(2) The deposit shall cease to draw interest on the date it is returned or credited to the customer’s 

account.  

(g) Notification to customers.  When a REP requires a customer to pay a deposit, the REP shall provide the 
customer written information about the provider’s deposit policy, the customer’s right to post a guarantee in 
lieu of a cash deposit if applicable, how a customer may be refunded a deposit, and the circumstances under 
which a provider may increase a deposit.  These disclosures shall be included either in the Your Rights as a 
Customer disclosure or the REP’s terms of service document. 

(h) Records of deposits. 
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(1) A REP that collects a deposit shall keep records to show: 
(A) the name and address of each depositor; 
(B) the amount and date of the deposit; and 
(C) each transaction concerning the deposit. 

(2) A REP that collects a deposit shall issue a receipt of deposit to each customer or applicant paying a 
deposit or reflect the deposit on the customer’s bill statement.  A REP shall provide means for a 
depositor to establish a claim if the receipt is lost. 

(3) A REP shall maintain a record of each unclaimed deposit for at least four years. 
(4) A REP shall make a reasonable effort to return unclaimed deposits. 

(i) Guarantees of residential customer accounts.  A guarantee agreement in lieu of a cash deposit issued by 
any REP, if applicable, shall conform to the following requirements:  
(1) A guarantee agreement between a REP and a guarantor shall be in writing and shall be for no more 

than the amount of deposit the provider would require on the customer’s account pursuant to 
subsection (e) of this section.  The amount of the guarantee shall be clearly indicated in the signed 
agreement.  The REP may require, as a condition of the continuation of the guarantee agreement, 
that the guarantor remain a customer of the REP, have no past due balance, and have no more than 
one late payment in a 12-month period during the term of the guarantee agreement. 

(2) The guarantee shall be voided and returned to the guarantor according to the provisions of subsection 
(j) of this section. 

(3) Upon default by a residential customer, the guarantor of that customer’s account shall be responsible 
for the unpaid balance of the account only up to the amount agreed to in the written agreement. 

(4) If the guarantor ceases to be a customer of the REP or has more than one late payment in a 12-month 
period during the term of the guarantee agreement, the provider may treat the guarantee agreement 
as in default and demand a cash deposit from the residential customer as a condition of continuing 
service. 

(5) The REP shall provide written notification to the guarantor of the customer’s default, the amount 
owed by the guarantor, and the due date for the amount owed. 
(A) The REP shall allow the guarantor 16 days from the date of notification to pay the amount 

owed on the defaulted account.  If the sixteenth day falls on a holiday or weekend, the due 
date shall be the next business day. 

(B) The REP may transfer the amount owed on the defaulted account to the guarantor’s own 
electric service bill provided the guaranteed amount owed is identified separately on the 
bill as required by §25.479 of this title (relating to Issuance and Format of Bills).  

(6) The REP may initiate disconnection for nonpayment of the guaranteed amount only if the 
disconnection of service was disclosed in the written guarantee agreement, and only after proper 
notice as described by paragraph (5) of this subsection or §25.483 of this title. 

(j) Refunding deposits and voiding letters of guarantee. 
(1) A deposit held by a REP shall be refunded when the customer has paid bills for service for 12 

consecutive residential billings or for 24 consecutive non-residential billings without having any 
late payments.  A REP may refund the deposit to a customer via a bill credit.  REPs shall comply 
with this provision as soon as practicable, but no later than August 31, 2004.  

(2) Once the REP is no longer the REP of record for a customer or if service is not established with the 
REP, the REP shall either transfer the deposit plus accrued interest to the customer’s new REP or 
promptly refund the deposit plus accrued interest to the customer, as agreed upon by the customer 
and both REPs.  The REP may subtract from the amount refunded any amounts still owed by the 
customer to the REP.  If the REP obtained a guarantee, such guarantee shall be cancelled to the 
extent that it is not needed to satisfy any outstanding balance owed by the customer.  Alternatively, 
the REP may provide the guarantor with written documentation that the contract has been cancelled 
to the extent that the guarantee is not needed to satisfy any outstanding balance owed by the 
customer.   
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(3) If a customer’s or applicant’s service is not connected, or is disconnected, or the service is terminated 
by the customer, the REP shall promptly void and return to the guarantor all letters of guarantee on 
the account or provide written documentation that the guarantee agreement has been voided, or 
refund the customer’s or applicant’s deposit plus accrued interest on the balance, if any, in excess 
of the unpaid bills for service furnished.  Similarly, if the guarantor’s service is not connected, or is 
disconnected, or the service is terminated by the customer, the REP shall promptly void and return 
to the guarantor all letters of guarantee or provide written documentation that the guarantees have 
been voided.  This provision does not apply when the customer or guarantor moves or changes the 
address where service is provided, as long as the customer or guarantor remains a customer of the 
REP. 

(4) A REP shall terminate a guarantee agreement when the customer has paid its bills for 12 consecutive 
months without service being disconnected for nonpayment and without having more than two 
delinquent payments.  

(k) Re-establishment of credit.  A customer or applicant who previously has been a customer of the REP and 
whose service has been terminated or disconnected for nonpayment of bills or theft of service by that 
customer (meter tampering or bypassing of meter) may be required, before service is reinstated, to pay all 
amounts due to the REP or execute a deferred payment agreement, if offered, and reestablish credit.   

(l) Upon sale or transfer of company.  Upon the sale or transfer of a REP or the designation of an alternative 
POLR for the customer’s electric service, the seller or transferee shall provide the legal successor to the 
original provider all deposit records.   

 


